Home - National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Skip to navigation Skip to content


Darien Resident Honored As Outstanding Chapter Board Member

DARIEN, Conn. — Janet Pierpont has received the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, Connecticut Chapter’s Outstanding Chapter Board Member award. Pierpont, a resident of Darien, Conn., accepted the honor earlier this month at the Chapter’s Awards Ceremony and Annual Meeting.

 In October 2007 the Western Connecticut Chapter united with the Greater Connecticut Chapter to create one chapter to serve the needs of people in Connecticut affected by MS. Pierpont, and fellow board member Jennifer Cox, were key contributors in the creation of the unified Connecticut Chapter.

Janet Pierpont accepts her award

Pictured are, left to right, Joyce Nelson, president and chief executive officer of the National MS Society; Lisa Gerrol, president and chief professional officer, Connecticut Chapter; Jennifer Cox; Janet Pierpont; and Mike Stacy, master of ceremonies.

 “We are mobilizing the talents and resources — statewide — of people who want to take on the fight against this disease,” said Pierpont, Connecticut Chapter Board of Trustees vice chairperson. “This includes our members, our staff, our volunteers, donors, participants and board. Collectively, we are moving forward with determination and resolve. We will not be satisfied until there is a cure.”

 More than 6,000 Connecticut residents live with multiple sclerosis, a chronic and often disabling disease of the central nervous system. There currently is no cure. Symptoms can include, among other things, numbness and tingling in the limbs, difficulties with vision and speech, stiffness and, in some more severe cases, total paralysis. The progress, severity and specific symptoms of MS in any one person cannot be predicted.

Pierpont is the former chairperson of the Western Connecticut Chapter Board of Trustees. She has also worked on the Promise 2010 fundraising campaign and served on the committee for the annual Dinner of Champions.

Chapter president Lisa Gerrol handed out 17 awards at the annual meeting, which took place at the Hartford Marriot Rocky Hill March 2. Joyce Nelson, president and CEO of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, gave the keynote speech.

For more information on multiple sclerosis, the chapter, its efforts to end the devastating effects of the disease and the many ways to help, please go to http://www.ctfightsms.org/.

Related Links


Biogen Idec Honored As Outstanding Corporate


Litchfield Woman Honored For Excellence In Volunteerism


All active news articles